[Dantewada Vani and Kracktivist]: Soni Sori’s Latest Letter from Jail: Some Questions For All of Us

Note: An attempt was made to translate. And while I understand a lot of the Hindi, I don’t think my poor translation will justify this important piece of communication from Soni Sori. I am certain an English translation will be available soon. Will link as it is posted.

Translation now available

गुरूजी,आप सब सामाजिक कार्यकर्ताओं, बुद्धिजीवी संगठन वाले, मानवाधिकार महिला आयोग, देश वासियों से पीड़ित लाचार एक आदिवासी महिला आप सबसे अपने ऊपर किये अत्याचार का जवाब मांग रही है| और जानना चाहती है कि –
(१) मुझे करंट शार्ट देने से, मेरे कपड़े उतारकर नंगा करने से या शरीर में बेदर्दी के साथ कंकड गिट्टी डालने से क्या नक्सलवाद समस्या खत्म हो जायेगा| हम औरतों के साथ ऐसा अत्याचार क्यों| आप सब देशवासियों से जानना है |

(२) जब मेरी कपड़े उतराया जा रहा था उस वक्त ऐसा लग रहा था कोई तो आये और मुझे बचा ले पर ऐसा नहीं हुआ| महाभारत में द्रोपती अपने वस्त्र अहरण में कृष्णजी को पुकारकर आपनी लज्जा को बचा ली| मैं किसे पुकारती मुझे तो कोर्ट न्यायालय द्वारा इनके हाथो में सौपी गई थी| ये नहीं कहूँगी कि मेरी लज्जा को बचा लो| अब मेरे पास बचा ही क्या है| हाँ आप सब से जानना चाहूंगी कि मेरे साथ ऐसा प्रताडना क्यों किया गया|

Read the whole letter here

Translation Provided Below:

This if for all social workers intellectuals, NGOs, human rights organisations, women’s commission and citizens of India, an abused and helpless tribal woman, is asking you to answer her why she is being brutally tortured and she wants to know–

That by giving me current, by stripping me naked, or by brutally assaulting me inserting stones in my rectum- will the problem of Naxalism end ? Why so many atrocities on women? I want to know from all countrymen

1. When I was being stripped, that time I felt someone should come and save me and it did not happen. In Mahabharata , Draupadi’s honour was saved when she called upon Krishna Whom should I have called , I was given to them ( police ) by the court . But now ,I will not say that save my honour as I have nothing left. Yes, I want to know from all of you that why was I Tortured?

2. Police officer, S. P Ankit Garg after stripping me says that “you are a whore, a bitch, who pleases naxal leaders by selling your body and they come to your house every day and night. We know everything, “he said adding that “. You claim to be a good teacher, but you sell yourself even in Delhi. What’s your status anyways, you think the big stalwarts will support such an ordinary woman like you”. Why will a police officer say this? Today history is witness that whenever there is war in country or any other conflict, women have contributed a lot to the nation. Jhansi Lakshmi Bai fought with the Britishers, did she sell herself ? Indira Gandhi as the prime minister of India , she governed the country, did she sell herself ? Today all the women who are working in their respective areas are they selling themselves ? All of us are bound with each other in unity and support, then why no one is coming to help me ? I would like to have an answer from you?

Read the full letter here.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

